UP Assembly polls

After voting for the first phase of Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh ended today, the Election Commission announced that the state witnessed a voter turnout of 64.2%. The first phase of polling took place in 73 of 403 constituencies in UP wherein around 2.59 crore people were eligible to vote. The second phase of voting is scheduled for February 15.

ECI : 2,96,906 troublemakers were identified & preventive actions were taken against them in first phase of UP elections

Election Commission: 3888 digital & video cameras were used, webcasting was done in 2857 places for first phase of UP elections.

By the time voting ended, Noida had recorded 59 per cent, Dadri 61, Jewar (65), Bulandshahr (64), Shamli (62), Fatehabad (70.82), Mathura (67), Agra (63.94) and Fatehpur Siri (69.49). The polling percentage in Mathura improved by eight per cent over the 2012 state assembly elections.