Dharamsala Test

Australia have won the toss and have opted to bat

Australia (Playing XI): Matt Renshaw, David Warner, Steven Smith(c), Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade(w), Pat Cummins, Steve O’Keefe, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood

India (Playing XI): Lokesh Rahul, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane(c), Karun Nair, Ravichandran Ashwin, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav

Massive news: India’s batting coach, has just confirmed that Virat Kohli isn’t fit enough to play today at Dharamshala. A real anti-climactic start. Ajinkya Rahane has been handed over the reins for the all-important clash. And more importantly Kuldeep Yadav has been handed over his maiden Test cap.  Surprise surprise  Adds some more mystery to the jig-saw puzzle. Five bowlers, three spinners. By the looks of it going in.

Form guide

India: DWLWW (last five completed matches, most recent first)
Australia: DLWWW

Pitch and conditions

Dharamsala’s location and altitude have tended to offer some help to pace bowlers in the past, though during last year’s World Twenty20 the pitch was slow and assisting spin. The surface has a thin film of green grass that is expected to be shaved off by match morning and some help for spin can be expected.

Virat Kohli expected it to offer “good bounce for the spinners” and “good pace off the wicket for the quicks”. Dharamsala should have pleasant weather through the Test, with maximum temperatures in the low-to-mid-20s, with forecasts of rain towards the second half of the match.