Presidential Election 2017: Ram Nath Kovind vs Meira Kumar


Today, Elected MLAs and MPs are voting in the Parliament as well as state assemblies to elect India’s 14th President. BJP are very confident that there presidential candidate Ram Nath Kovind will win the election. 776 MPs and 4120 MLAs will decide in a secret ballot vote today when polling began at 10 am with a total vote value of 10,98,903 – 549,408 for 543 Lok Sabha and 233 Rajya Sabha parliamentarians, and 549,495 for 4,120 legislators in state assemblies. Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar, who are yet to resign from the Lok Sabha, voted in the respective Assemblies. The ballot boxes would be sent to Chandigarh tomorrow morning and flown to Delhi, a Vidhan Sabha official said. A total of 95 candidates filed nominations for the top Constitutional post, of which 93 were rejected on various grounds, leaving only Kovind and Opposition candidate Meira Kumar in the race.

“Hope the electoral college picks the custodian of India’s Constitution thoughtfully….Vote to uphold constitutional values of our republic,” – Sitaram Yechury (Secretary General of the Communist Party of India).

Mamata Banerjee: “We voted for Meira Kumar to register our protest against “present atrocities” in the country.” (PTI)

“Kovind ji will win (the election) with a respectable and comfortable margin,” Union minister M. Venkaiah Naidu

Related posts

Trump’s decision to pull the United States from the Paris Agreement, a bad news for India?

Shantam Sharma

Delhi and Mumbai on alert over possible LeT attacks

Shalu Sinha


Sanya Dawar

Leave a Comment