A look at future leaders in India’s political dynasties 

Aditya Thackeray

future leaders India

Son of Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray Currently:

Currently: Chief of the Yuva Sena

Varun Gandhi

future leaders India

Son of cabinet minister Maneka Gandhi

Currently: BJP MP, Sultanpur (UP) Though active in his mother’s constituency since late ’90s, Varun Gandhi made entry into politics by formally joining BJP in 2004; in 2014, he was appointed as general secretary in Rajnath Singh’s team; is counted as one of the prominent BJP youth leaders

Tejaswi Yadav

future leaders India

Son of RJD chief Lalu Prasad Yadav

Currently: Deputy CM of Bihar

Jayant Sinha

future leaders India

Son of Yashwant Sinha, former cabinet minister

Currently: Minister of State for Civil Aviation has been active in politics for almost 15 years; though at present not in the good books of the PM (Sinha was shunted out of the finance ministry in a cabinet reshuffle), there is every chance of him rebounding


future leaders India

Son of former DMK chief M Karunanidhi

Currently: Newly anointed DMK president

Supriya Sule

future leaders India

Daughter of NCP chief Sharad Pawar

Currently: Lok Sabha MP, Baramati (Maharashtra) Head of NCP’s women wing, Sule’s stand on women empowerment & foeticide-related issues have drawn considerable attention; her aggressive posturing against the Maharashtra govt has made her emerge as a strong force in the state politics; speculated to be the natural successor to the NCP chief

Poonam Mahajan

future leaders India

Daughter of late Pramod Mahajan, BJP leader

Currently: Lok Sabha MP, Mumbai North-Central


future leaders India

Son of Samajwadi Party chief Mulayam Singh Yadav

Currently: CM, Uttar Pradesh Entered active politics in 2009 when he was appointed state president of  the SP; became UP CM in 2012; considered by many to be the most popular SP leader

Last but not the least

future leaders India

Rahul Gandhi , son of Congress president Sonia Gandhi

Currently: Congress vice-president heir to the Congress crown, RG made his foray into active politics in 2004; often criticised as a ‘reluctant politician’, he still remains the second-most powerful man in the party