India won the first twenty-20 match of three-match series against South Africa by 28 runs at New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburg and continued there dominating performance. India will play its second T20 at SuperSport Park, Centurion on 21 February.

Brief Score

India 203-5 in 20 overs (Shikhar Dhawan 72 runs from 39 balls and Manish Pandey 29 from 27)

South Africa – 192-4 in 20 overs (Reeza Hendricks 70 from 50 balls and Farhaan Behardien 39 from 27 balls)

Bhuvneshwar Kumar was awarded Man of the Match for his 5-24 in four overs.

AB De Villiers is ruled out of T20 series due to the knee injury, keeping in mind the upcoming four-match series against Australia proteas are not taking any risk with De Villiers.

South Africa XI – JJ Smuts, Reeza Hendricks, Jean-Paul Duminy (c), David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dane Paterson, Junior Dala, Tabraiz Shamsi

India XI– Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (c), Suresh Raina, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, MS Dhoni (wk), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jaydev Unadkat, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah