AHMEDABAD:  Congress leader Ahmed Patel is returning to the Rajya Sabha Election from Gujarat for a fifth term, winning the third seat today in a bitterly fought election that became a massive prestige battle between the Congress and the BJP. The other two seats have been won easily by BJP chief Amit Shah, who makes his debut in Parliament, and union minister Smriti Irani. For the Congress, snatching the Ahmed Patel win from a BJP determined to prevent it is the biggest boost it has had in a long time.

Amit Shah made his 1st entry into the house of elders and so did party nominee and Information and Broadcasting Minister Smriti Irani got 46 votes each, an Election Commission official said.

“This is not just my victory. It is a defeat of the most blatant use of money power, muscle power and abuse of state machinery,” Patel, who secured a fifth Rajya Sabha term after the tough electoral fight, tweeted after his victory.

“I am happy and I thank my party leadership, my MLAs, party’s rank and file who worked like a family. It was a tough Rajya Sabha Election which we won,” Ahmed Patel said.

Last night, the returning officer announced the final numbers in the polls according to which Ahmed Patel secured 4400 votes, BJP’s Amit Shah got 4600, Smriti Irani, too, got 4600, and Balwantsinh Rajput got 3800 votes.

Chief Minister Vijay Rupani said BJP would legally challenge the Election Commision’s decision rejecting the votes of two Congress MLAs who had backed his party.

Before counting was taken up following the Election Commission’s order rejecting the votes cast by Bholabhai Gohil and Raghavjibhai Patel for allegedly showing their ballots to Amit Shah in violation of rules, a high-voltage drama unfolded at Nirvachan Sadan, the poll panel’s headquarters in New Delhi. TV footages, however, showed that Patel displayed his ballot to an unidentified person present in the voting hall.

Randeep Surjewala who is Congress media in-charge and spokesman Shaktisinh Gohil had said that two disgruntled MLAs had shown their ballots to Amit Shah.
The poll panel passed the order after viewing the video recording of the voting process, saying the two electors had “violated the voting procedure and secrecy of ballots.

Full Result Is Here

Rajya Sabha Election


[wcp_weather id=”wcp_openweather_598a89a10d854″ city=”Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India” city_data=”” tempUnit=”c” windSpeedUnit=”ms” pressureUnit=”mmHg” template=”default” showCurrentWeather=”on” showForecastWeather=””]